Catching Fire

2 Feb

THE SECOND BOOK IN THE HUINGER GAMES

by: Suzanne Collins Published by scholastic in 2009

It’s been a few months since her Hunger Games victory when Katniss was faced with 23 other teenagers all wanting the same thing to kill each other , the game the Capitol made to remind all the districts of their dominance.Now Katniss has to make an annual tour around Panem during a rebellion against the Captiol that she has started with what she thought was an innocent move in the Hunger Games arena. With the capitol realizing how dangerous she is becoming she has become an easy target with the huge amount of brutal peace keepers now in every district, freedom is out of the question.

Who knew that much could happen in the 3 months? As her and her fellow tributes Peeta, who joined her in the arena last year and was devoted to keeping her alive and Haymitch who knows how to survive but can’t say anything to anyone without an insult , learn that this year’s Hunger Games are called Quarter Quell which means the evil Capitol throws a random twist to Hunger Games.

This year’s Quarter Quell: one male and one female must chosen from the victors of each district instead of the district’s teenagers. For Katniss this means she will be returning to the Hunger Games arena. Except this time she is not dealing with a bunch of inexperienced kids, these people have won a Hunger Games of their own, they know their own survival strategy, But when some peculiar things happen, like all the other tributes, who should be trying to kill her are trying to keep her and Peeta alive, does this have anything to do with this rebellion or are they trying to gain trust only to turn on her later? Will Katniss be for rebellion or against it? Who should she trust? Why is everyone trying to keep her alive?

The second book in most trilogies are boring and uneventful but this was just as surprising and action packed as the first book. I can’t wait to read the third book. I had a cliff hanger to look forward to at the end of every chapter. I didn’t put this book down once, I felt like I was standing by Katniss’s side because of the authors great detailed writing.
I recommend this book to anyone, it may seem like a big book but, by the time you’re to the end you’ll want it to be bigger. You’ll want to keep reading, I read this in about 3 or 4 days with 391 pages. Read it! You’ll be glad you did.

Quote 1: “President Snow spoke, ‘On the seventy-fifth anniversary, to remind the rebels that even the strongest among them cannot overcome the power of the Capitol, the male and female tributes will be chosen from their existing pool of victors.’ My Mother gives a faint shriek, Prim buried her head in her hands, but I feel more like the crowd on television. Slightly baffled. What does it mean? Existing pool of victors? Then I get, what it means, at least, for me. District 12 only has 3 victors. Two male and One female. I am going back to the Hunger Games Arena.

Quote 2: “I remain at the window long after the woods have swallowed up the last glimpse of my home. This time I don’t have even the slightest hope of return. Before my first Games, I promised Prim I would do everything I could to win, and I’ve sworn to myself to keep Peeta alive. I will never reverse this journey again.”
Quote 3: “Any last words of advice?” Peeta asks.

“Stay alive,” Haymitch says gruffly. That’s almost an old joke with us now. He gives us each a quick embrace, and I can tell it’s all he can stand. “Go to bed you need rest.”

Leave a Reply

