Mockingjay

2 Feb

The Third book in the Hunger Games
By: Suzanne Collins, Published by Scholastic Press in 2010

Mockingjay, not only is it a bird that carries songs, but a nickname that Katniss Everdeen, a girl from district twelve, now destroyed by Capitol bombs, was given when she became the symbol of rebellion, after surviving the hunger games. Hunger games. It’s as bad as it sounds. Twenty-four teenagers must fight to the death until there is one winner, amazingly Katniss has survived two of these awful games. In her second games she and several other rebel competitors were rescued and some unfortunate one’s were kidnapped by the capitol only to be tortured including her brave friend, Peeta. In order to picture the situation that Katniss is in, mix the revolutionary war and future technology together, while you are putting your life on the line at all times and what do you get? Chaos. Insanity. Death. Here’s another question. When you decide who to trust it’s mostly based on who will keep your secrets, right? Not for Katniss, when she decides who to trust it could be with her life or even lives of those she loves. She wants this to end, which is why she must help the rebels defeat the capitol but, is it worth the many lives that will be lost? How will she keep them alive? Will she recover Peeta from the torture he is barely surviving? After physical and psychological battle scars will she ever be the same? Has she already lost her sanity but no one has the heart tell her?

Although I didn’t stop reading this book and kept wanting to read on and on I think that was only because of the other books great writing and surprising plot I needed to know the characters fate. I have to admit that the writing did not quite reach my expectations for Collins but I gave her a break because of the past books she written not only the Hunger Games series but also Gregor the Overlander were so fantastic.

If you can’t handle any violence or people dying then I suggest you don’t read this book. If you love adventure, edgy chapter endings, surprising, and well, are just having a hard time finding a good book to read then I promise you that you will not put it down. I had a great time reading this and wish there was more!

Quote 1: Finally, Plutarch Havensbee, the head Gamemaker who had organized the rebels in the Capitol, threw up his hands. ‘Let her go. Better to waste a day than another month. Maybe a little tour of twelve is just what she needs to convince her we’re on the same side.’
The same side. A pain stabs my left temple and I press my hands against it. Right on the spot where Johanna Mason hit me with the coil of wire. The memories swirl as I try to sort out what is true and what is false”

Quote 2: “Since the effects of the concussion hasn’t fully wore off I use a technique one of the doctors suggested. I start with the simplest things I know to be true and work toward the more complicated. The list begins to roll in my head….. My name is Katniss Everdeen. I am seventeen years old. My home is district 12. I was in the Hunger Games. I escaped. The Capitol hates me, Peeta was taken prisoner. He is thought to be dead, Most likely he is dead. It’s probably best if is…..”

Leave a Reply

