Cloaked by Alex Finn

11 Apr

cloaked by alex finnJohnny leads a life of a peasant. He and his mother have barley gotten by ever since the mysterious disappearance of his father when he was just two years old. Now they continue to run the small shoe repair that is housed in a fancy hotel in Miami. Shoes have become, Johnny’s passion, his love, his life.

Until that is a beautiful princess comes along, a drunken, party girl that everyone is crazed about. Princess Victoriana of Aloria. She notices him and his hard work. She calls for his help to find her brother or ‘bruzzer’ (as she would say) who was cursed by a witch, leaving him a frog. The prince is not the only victim though of witches powers. There are more transformed animal that used to humans all over, it explains many of the disappearances we come upon, according to this book. Taking some magical items with him for help, Johnny discovers things that will leave him prepared for anything, find some important people and other creatures.

I thought this was a pretty good book. It wasn’t nearly good as Beastly though. I expected more. from Flinn. I thought the end seemed a little rushed, everything came together to easy. It got off to a great start, but went to downhill the farther you got into the book. That’s just my opinion though, it could be just the right pace for you . I like to take time to look at the moment and the situation the characters are in. I never felt the emotion I think should have been there when I look back.

I recommend this book for people who have the will to finish a book. It’s easy to get started but harder to finish. I don’t think it was the worst book I’ve read in a while, but it hasn’t lived up to me expectations. I think this would make a better movie than a book.

Leave a Reply

